Mad Men inspiration – Joan

by vargajudit

When Mad Men was first on TV, I didn’t really like it. Then I gave it another go and that time I got to like it, so I was really expecting the new series. It is the era, the enteriors and of course the outfits that make me watch it. Well, mostly – I like the storyline as well, when they don’t overcomplicate it.

I created a few polyvore boards with a couple of actually wearable outfits, so… let’s start with Joan 🙂

joan02In her outfits, it is the very feminin character that I like (just like mostly everyone else… 🙂 ) Skirts, heels and a few accessories. Oh, and lipstick! Even though I never wear lipstick, but actually in her case, that is essential. Her style is great for curvy girls who want to look sexy, but you really have to believe in yourself when you wear such clothes. The skirt and blouse pictured in the first polyvore board is more suitable for daytime, while the second is mostly for a night out. She is also a great example that even gingers are allowed to wear any colour – with confidence 🙂

Accessories are mostly gold in her case – have you noticed, by the way, the cute, pencil necklace? I am not sure whether it is appropriate for the time, but it is way too cute 🙂joan

